NBIC 5th Wave Accession – 12 New Research Institutions Join Our Consortium

We are proud to have completed our 5th round of accession for a further twelve UK Universities and research institutions. In just three years NBIC has grown to a partnership with 64 research institutions and over 150 companies, as well as a wide international network.

This further underlines NBIC’s role as the hub for accessing the appropriate biofilm research, innovation and training expertise in the UK to meet all research or industry needs. View all of our 64 research institutions on our Research Partners page. 


Our new members are:

  • Brunel University London
  • Durham University
  • Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
  • Sheffield Hallam University
  • Teesside University
  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of Essex
  • University of Hertfordshire
  • University of Lincoln
  • University of Strathclyde
  • University of the Highlands and Islands
NBIC Research Institutions

Image of University of Lincoln

The University of Lincoln is one university that has recently signed our accession agreement to allow access to leading research in biofilms. Biofilms are important to a wide variety of Lincolnshire based industries including the agri-tech and food processing industries, healthcare and heritage studies where poor control of biofilms can be extremely costly both in time and money.

Dr Ron Dixon from Lincoln’s School of Life Sciences said,

“The recent accession agreement with NBIC offers researchers at the University of Lincoln new exciting research opportunities and funding to work with a world class consortium and industrial partners in laboratory-based science”.

If you’re an academic in a research institution or a commercial organisation with a desire to join our mission to achieve breakthroughs in biofilm innovation, please contact us at nbic@biofilms.ac.uk.