University of Liverpool

Research Areas & Focuses

  1. Antimicrobial and Anti-Adhesion Surfaces
  2. Smart materials for targeted/triggered responses
  3. Surface Spectroscopies and Imaging of Bio-interfaces including super-resolution techniques
  4. High throughput testing robots
  5. Sensor technology
  6. Mathematical Modelling
  7. Nanotechnology in Biology
  8. Plasma technologies
  9. Infection Control
  10. Bacterial Pathogenesis
  11. Big Data and Informatics
  12. Biorenewable Chemicals from Biomass

University of Liverpool

For enquiries, please contact Rasmita Raval.


  • Open Innovation Hub for Antimicrobial Surfaces (OPIHAS)
  • Materials Innovation Factory (MIF)
  • Centre for Cell Imaging (CCI)
  • Liverpool Biomedical Electron Microscopy unit
  • Liverpool Centre for Mathematics in Healthcare (LCMH)
  • Sensor City
  • Micro Biorefinery
  • Centre for Plasma Engineering
  • Centres for Genomic and Proteomic Research
  • GeneMill Synthetic Biology Lab


Heike Arnolds, Department of Chemistry
Luca Barbieri, Department of Chemistry
Daimark Bennett, Institute of Integrative Biology
James Bradley, Department of Electrical Engineering & Electronics
Mathias Brust, Department of Chemistry
Hasan Chowdhury, Institute of Infection and Global Health
Andy Cooper, Department of Chemistry
Colin Crick, Department of Chemistry
Jude Curran, Institute of Ageing and Chronic Disease
Raechelle D’Sa, School of Engineering
Alistair Darby, Institute of Integrative Biology
Yuri Diaz Fernandez, Department of Chemistry
Francesco Falciani, Institute of Integrative Biology
Sean Goodman, Department of Chemistry
Angharad Green, Institute of Infection and Global Health
Jenny Hanson, School of Engineering
Simon Longden, Materials Innovation Factory
Fiona McBride, Department of Chemistry
Howbeer Muhamad Ali, Institute of Integrative Biology
Rasmita Raval, Department of Chemistry
Dmitry Shchukin, Department of Chemistry
Ioritz Sorzabal-Bellido, Department of Chemistry
Joe Spencer, Department of Electrical Engineering & Electronics
James Walsh, Department of Electrical Engineering & Electronics
Ewan Young, Department of Chemistry